Year 4, 5 and 6

Year 4, 5 and 6 Suggested Websites and Activities

Websites

Switcheroo Zoo –  www.switcheroozoo.com Watch, listen and games to learn all about amazing animals.

Nat Geo for Kids – www.kids.nationalgeographic.com Learn all about geography and fascinating animals.

Into the Book – www.reading.ecb.org Go ‘into the book’ to play games that practice reading strategies!

ABC YA – www.abcya.com Practice math and reading skills all while playing fun games.

Fun Brain – www.funbrain.com Play games while practicing maths and reading skills.

Highlights Kids – www.highlightskids.com Read, play games and conduct cool science experiments.

The kids should see this – www.thekidshouldseethis.com Wide range of cool educational videos

Crash Course Kids – www.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids A range of videos on many different subjects for kids

Behind the News – www.abc.net.au/btn/stories A kids news show

Oxford Owl – www.oxfordowl.co.uk/forhome A range of English and Maths for all ages.

Scholastic – https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html resources across all learning areas

Read Theory – https://readtheory.org/ Parents will need to sign up. A range of reading comprehension

Study Ladder – https://www.studyladder.com.au/?lc_set

Some suggested activities

(These can be done at least once a week. Some like maths and reading should be done

Maths

Measure the area and perimeter of each room in your home. Draw a map of your home and neighborhood, timetables

Cooking

Cook favourite meals together, write down the steps to create a recipe or recipe books.

Design a board game

Design and make a board game. Create rules and all the resources needed. Play the game with your family.

Times Tables

Create times table flash cards, time how long each times table takes to say out loud

 

Write a diary

Keep a written or video diary of your days at home with you family

Build

Build cubby houses inside and out, build Lego, build with boxes etc.

Craft

Sewing, knitting, croquet, pom poms,

Sensory Play

Make slime, follow different slime recipes online, experiment with consistencies and simple variables like glitter and colours etc

Get outside and play

Create obstacle courses, kick balls at different targets, can you get the ball into the smallest bucket?, skipping